Democrat State Senate District 35 Candidate Dr. Barbara Sharief Releases Internal Polling Confirming A Commanding Lead Over Challenger

October 17, 2023

Dr. Barbara Sharief, a Democrat running for the 35th Florida Senate District, has released the results of two recent internal polls. The first poll, conducted from September 7th to 11th, 2023, surveyed 236 very likely Democrat primary voters. The findings were positive for Dr. Sharief, with over 60% of voters preferring a candidate with experience in County Commission or Mayor roles, such as Dr. Sharief, over a candidate with no experience, like Mr. Jacobs. In a head-to-head matchup, Dr. Sharief garnered 43% of the votes while Mr. Jacobs’ only received 3% of the vote. Additionally, only 5% of voters had a positive opinion of Mr. Jacobs, while 44% had a positive opinion of Dr. Sharief.

In a head-to-head matchup, Dr. Sharief received 51% of the votes, while Mr. Jacobs received only 4%. The second poll, conducted via text from October 2nd to 4th, 2023, surveyed 504 very likely Democrat primary voters and showed even more positive results for Dr. Sharief. In a head-to-head matchup, she received 51% of the votes, while Mr. Jacobs received only 4%. When asked about preferring a candidate with experience versus someone who has never been elected, 66% of voters favored experience, while 16% favored the inexperienced candidate.

Dr. Sharief said, “I have represented this District as a Miramar City Commissioner, County Commissioner, and I was twice elected as Broward County’s Mayor. I have worked hard building my successful business and raising my three beautiful daughters while being a public servant and I am excited by the prospect of representing my neighbors in Tallahassee as their next state senator.

Democratic Party officials believe Mr. Jacobs faces an uphill battle given these polling results. Dr. Sharief has been endorsed by prominent Democrat activists and elected officials, positioning her as the front-runner with the experience and determination needed to win the race and advocate for the residents of SD-35. Mr. Jacobs’ fundraising efforts face steep hurdles in a costly media market, where campaign expenses are substantial.

Dr. Sharief said, “I am so grateful for the community’s support on the campaign trail and from the numerous endorsements I have received. I am committed to serving the 35th District and addressing the economic and housing issues faced by our residents.

To learn more about Dr. Barbara Sharief, visit shariefforflorida.com and follow @drbarbarasharief on social media.

For interview requests or more information please contact:

District 35 includes parts of seven cities Weston, Davie, Southwest Ranches, Miramar, Pembroke Pines, Cooper City, and Sunrise. Today’s announcement is the latest indication that there may not be a contested Democratic Primary in 2024, as any potential challenger would face an uphill battle in securing the nomination because of all the support Dr. Sharief has received so early in the election cycle.

The following is a list of endorsements of Dr. Barbara Sharief for SD35 as of October 17, 2023:

Current and former elected officials include:
State Senator Dr. Rosalind Osgood
Hon. Brenda Forman, Broward County Clerk of the Courts
Hon. Harold Pryor, Broward County State Attorney
Broward Commissioner Mark Bogen
Broward County Commissioner Robert McKinzie
Broward County Commissioner Hazelle Rogers
Broward County Commissioner Tim Ryan
Mayor Judy Paul, Town of Davie
Mayor Mike Ryan, City of Sunrise
Mayor Joy Cooper, City of Hallandale Beach
Mayor Tamara E. James, City of Dania Beach
Mayor Frank Ortis, City of Pembroke Pines
Mayor Judy Paul, Town of Davie
Vice Mayor Iris Siple, City of Pembroke Pines
Vice Mayor Caryl Hattan, Town of Davie
Deputy Mayor Mark Douglas, City of Sunrise
Commissioner Maxwell Chambers, City of Miramar
Commissioner Denise D. Grant, City of Lauderhill
Commissioner Jacqueline Guzman, City of Sunrise
Commissioner Neil C Kerch, City of Sunrise
Commissioner Lisa Mallozzi, City of Cooper City
Commissioner Joseph Scuotto, City of Sunrise
Commissioner Jay Schwartz, City of Pembroke Pines
Commissioner Elvin Villalobos, City of Tamarac
Commissioner Alanna Mersinger, S. Broward Drainage
Hon. Perry Thurston, Former State Senator
Hon. Jennifer Gottlieb, Fmr BCPS Board Member
Hon. Lori Moseley, Former Mayor, City of Miramar
Hon. Daniel Stermer, Former Mayor City of Weston
Former BCPS Member & Broward Dem. Party President of Council of Club President Hon. Karen Fortman

Union Officials and Political Committee’s
Broward County AFL-CIO President & Broward Democratic Party Treasurer Hon. Andre “Andy” Madtes
International Longshoremen Local 1526 President Johnnie Walker Dixon
314 Action Fund Elect Scientists

Democratic Party Officers (both past and present)
Broward Democratic Party County Chair Richard Hoye
Fmr. Broward Dem. Party County Chair “Mitch” Ceasar Esq.
Former Florida Dem. State Committeeman Hon. Ken Evans
Florida Dem. State Committeewoman Hon. Grace Carrington
Broward Dem. Party 1st Vice Chair Hon. Margarita Hernandez
Broward Dem. Party Recording Secretary Hon. Aude M L Sicard
Greater Ft Lauderdale Dem. Club Pres. Hon. Percy Johnson
Davie Cooper City Dem. Club Fmr. Pres. Steven Julian
Democratic Club of PP Club President Lourdes Diaz
East Side Dems Secretary Linda Thompson Gonzalez

Community Leaders
Barbara Ortis, Lori Baer, Mitchell Berger, Hope Calhoun, Mario Cartaya, Adolfo Cotilla, Heiko Dobrikow, Dave Eriks, Dadly Filius, Austin Forman, Bernie Friedman Esq., Natasha Hampton, Bill Laystrom, Georgianna Irby, Willie Jones, Dodie Keith-Lazowick, Patti Lynn, Dennis Mele, Edward Mena, John Milledge, Dorsey Miller, Catherine Minnis, Raymond Molinary, Tyrone Nabbie, George Platt Esq., Corey Shearer, Jodie Siegel Esq., Jim Silvernale, John T, Jean-Pierre Turgot, Scott Weiselberg,
Teresa Williams, Esq.